You can have anything you want, you just can’t have everything.

It is hard to disagree with this piece. I just think there are ways to win is just be unwilling to let go of the best of thing. We do need to connect to the flaws and pain of ourselves to write better. Thankfully I do see people everyday that redefine what “anything” can be.

Live to Write - Write to Live

practice art vonnegutMy life would be a whole lot easier if I wasn’t a writer.

I would have a lot more time on my hands.
My To Do list would be a lot shorter.
Time management wouldn’t be such a bear.

But, I am a writer.

My dad is fond of saying, “You can have anything you want, you just can’t have everything you want.” This particular bit of wisdom annoys me, partly because it feels limiting, but mostly because it’s so damn true.

You can’t say “yes” to one thing without saying “no” to something else. All choices involve sacrifice.

Artists are known for sacrifice. Writers, painters, performers – all of them choose their art over other things – security, comfort, leisure, even relationships.

We make ourselves vulnerable by opening our hearts up to the world. We sacrifice the safe anonymity of the non-artistic life, choosing instead to willingly subject ourselves…

View original post 282 more words

Leave a Reply

